BOARD MINUTES REGULAR MEETING April 11, 2023

The meeting of the Board of Trustees of Fort Benton High School and Elementary School Districts was called to order April 11, 2023 at 7:05 p.m. in the High School/Middle School Board Room, by Joellyn Clark, Chairperson.

Members present: Joellyn Clark, Mandy Wright, Kyla Wright, Angel Johnson, Will Scott, Brant Hasbrouck, Tyler Starman, and Dusty Schuler. A quorum was present.

Also present: Jory Thompson, Superintendent; Cali O'Hara, Business Manager/Clerk; Nathan Dunham, Activities Director; Roxie Benjamin, Elementary Principal; Russ Axtman, Maintenance; Paul Benhart, Transportation Supervisor; Bethany DeBorde - Reporter for River Press, Jamie Ball, Shalayna Clark, Emmery O'Hara, Owen Starman, Kara Clark, Romey Johnson, Elijah Miller, Lily Miller, and Kit Miller.

Joellyn Clark opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Joellyn Clark asked for public comment. There was no public comment.

Joellyn Clark reported that there was one bid returned for the replacement of the boilers.

It was moved by Mandy Wright and seconded by Will Scott, to accept the bid from FICO for the Facility Health Improvement boiler replacement. The motion passed unanimously.

Joellyn Clark, Board Chairman- No Report.

It was moved by Tyler Starman, and seconded by Brant Hasbrouck, to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2023 regular meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

It was moved by Tyler Starman, and seconded by Dusty Schuler, to approve payment of warrants. The motion passed unanimously.

Payroll: 96493-96569 Claims: 61337-61403

Roxie Benjamin, Elementary Principal – Reported along with Emmery O'Hara, Elijah Miller, Lily Miller, Kara Clark, Romey Johnson and Owen Starman. School attendance has been down the last month with lots of illness going around, teachers and staff have been affected as well. Thank you to the Lions Club and the County Health Department for assisting with the eye screening. Hoping to catch eye problems as early as this can

affect a kids ability to read.
The U of M came with a
STEM learning program that
was well attended. It was a
super fun experience. The
county heath will be at school
to help with Stranger Danger,
touch troubles and
Maturation. SBAC testing
will be begin in May. See
attached report

ROLL CALL

PLEDGE

PUBLIC COMMENT

COMMUNICATIONS TO AND FROM THE BOARD

BID APPROVAL

BOARD CHAIR

MINUTES

ELEM. PRINCIPAL REPORT

Russ Axtman, Maintenance- Reported that he is thankful for all the cleaning crews that keep our buildings clean and ready for students. Thank you to the volunteer fire department for burning the leaves along the football field, this saved the summer work crew a lot of time. Also thank you to the city of Fort Benton Maintenance crew for all their help with snow removal and the use of the packer to pack the track and get it ready for the spring season. Currently keeping the elementary building at a cool but comfortable temperature by running electric heaters in the classrooms during the day and propane heaters at night to keep the chill out of the building. The kitchen hood replacement will start June 5th.

Nathan Dunham, Athletic Director – Reported that 5th/6th grade basketball season is now completed. The Prom was well attended. The State FFA Convention is also completed for the year. There are 54 students out for middle school track. Today we hosted a high school track meet, 7 schools attended, JV tennis meet, and a JV golf meet. May 15-17 will be the dates of the 7th grade canoe trip, Mrs. MacDonald will be the lead chaperone. Longhorn Day will be in mid-May, they are going to focus on assisting Russ with maintenance projects around our buildings.

It was moved by Dusty Schuler, and seconded by Tyler Starman to approve Jace Thompson as a volunteer Track coach. Motion passed unanimously.

It was moved by Brant Hasbrouck, and seconded by Tyler Starman to hire Shana Diekhans – Head Coach and Megan Lords – Assistant Volleyball Coach. Motion passed unanimously.

It was moved by Brant Hasbrouck, and seconded by Tyler Starman to hire Tyler Pasha – Head Coach and Hardy O'Hara – Assistant Boys Basketball Coach. Motion passed unanimously.

It was moved by Tyler Starman, and seconded by Angel Johnson to hire Eddie Fultz – Head Coach and Erich Wellman – Assistant Girls Basketball

Coach. Motion passed unanimously.

It was moved by Tyler Starman, and seconded by Dusty Schuler to hire Colby Cline – Head Coach and Aaron Jones – Assistant Wrestling Coach. Motion passed unanimously.

Cali O'Hara, Business Manager/Clerk – Reported that the end of the 3rd quarter funds are okay, and that the end of the fiscal year is going to be very tight, but we should end the year with full reserves. See attached report. School elections will be May 2nd, the Fort Benton district is the only one that will be having an election. Brant Hasbrouck was the only one to file for the Benton Lake position and there was no filing for the Carter position.

Jory Thompson, Superintendent - Reported that there has been lots of activity towards the end of the year. Mr. Hould will be in at the end of May to shadow so that he has a feel for how things work before Jory

MAINTENCE REPORT

ACTIVITY DIRECTOR

Megan Lords Connor

McKillop **Tabitha

Ringler

Mandy Rominger *Jordan Skulsky *Elizabeth Southard

Carley Vielleux **Amy

Zuhoski

VOLUNTEER TRACK COACH

Motion passed unanimously.

VOLLEYBALL COACH

It was moved by Tyler Starman, and seconded by Brant Hasbrouck to rehire High School teachers for the 2023-2024 school year

BOYS BASKETBALL COACHES

GIRLS BASKETBALL COACHES

*Colby Cline Nathan

Dunham *Kathleen

England

*Rheanna Fultz
*Damon Gilbreth
Cassady Guinnane

*Krystal Kotthoff Megan

Lords *Tanara

Martin

Connor McKillop
*Jordan Skulsky
*Robert Truax

*Jacob Van Every Carley

Vielleux Miranda

Woodhouse
**Amy Zuhoski

WRESTLING COACHES

CLERK REPORT

HS/MS SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

Motion passed unanimously.

leaves. Thank you to Roxie Benjamin for being the admin supervisor at Prom. Thank you to Amy for getting things organized and ready for next year. See attached report.

It was moved by Mandy Wright, and seconded by Will Scott to rehire the following Elementary School teachers for the 2023-2024 school year.

Anna Arganbright Jamie Ball Justin Cartwright

*Colby Cline Tracy DeBruycker *Kathleen England

*Mindy Evans *Deanna Farwick *Rheanna Fultz

Peggy Gannon *Damon Gilbreth Cassady Guinnane

Jessica Hanford *Beth Jones Mylo Lane

Resignations-

Molly Willson – Elementary Library, Joanna Smith-Elementary Aide, Lori Ullery – Elementary Part- time Aide.

Committee Reports –
Personnel Committee –
Meeting April 18th at 6:00pm

Future Agenda Items-

Handbooks – Staff, High School, Elementary School. Elementary School Principal and Clerk Evaluation.	
It was moved by Tyler Starman, and seconded by Brant Hasbrouck, to adjourn at 8:15 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.	ADJOURN
BOARD CHAIRPERSON	ATTEST
CLERK	
2023-2024 ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TEACHERS REHIRED	
2023-2024 HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS REHIRED	
RESIGNATIONS	
COMMITTEE REPORTS	

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS